On our own mission 

Future of Hospitality
Innovation & Inventions

TUTAKAs cooperation with the University of Wuppertal

New ideas for more sustainability in hospitality - radical re-thinking of luxury and standards! TUTAKA presented this ambitious project objective in October 2018 to a group of students from the University of Wuppertal. Prof. Martin Topel had invited us to work with the University’s agency visionlabs - a prestigious institution offering innovative product design solutions for companies.

The prospective industrial designers rolled up their sleeves to identify hospitality practices which neither served client needs nor sustainability criteria. Playgrounds were hotel rooms, festival and event grounds, restaurants and catering companies. The students rethought guest experiences and defined new luxury benchmarks. TUTAKA walked them through the quality dimensions, added values of sustainability and provided deep insights into the hospitality industry. Big shout-out at this point to Hyatt Regency Cologne, 25hours Hotel The Circle, Motel One Cologne, Kaspar Catering, CHI coffee Wuppertal, Viertelbar Wuppertal, Taormina Wuppertal, Tante Olga Cologne for sharing their knowledge and expertise.

We soon realised we were working with 100% Ecoists, who did not need much explaining about why superb experiences and sustainability go hand in hand. The young students represent a new generation of guests and we could not wait to hear and see their results.

Difficult problems demand fine solutions. And here they are. We proudly present a selection from the range of designs and innovations straight from ecoistic product designers:

tray (Enrico Suhm)
A zero waste hotel bathroom is the ultimate dream. Neither mini-plastic bottles nor dispenser solutions do not meet an Ecoists demands. Liquid soaps, shampoos, conditioners and body lotions not only create packaging waste, but also dilute ingredients due to their high percentage of water. Enrico thought radical, abandoned the idea of liquids and turned towards solid cosmetics that anyway go through a renaissance right now. The problem? Providing solid bars of high quality is only a solution for luxury hosts. And still a lot of waste is being created since those bars will need individual packaging and there will be plenty of soap remains. How about grinding the soap bars in practical portions? This concept is not entirely new. But what is new about Enrico’s “tray” is to put an eye on both design and experience. Something conventional grinders do not provide. Enrico tested and tried, carried out surveys on how the grinded soap should look like and how the grinding mechanism should be conducted. The result is “tray”.

two° (Philine Jenke/ Maike Strauch)
Ever woke up from a noisy hotel room minibar, got down on your knees to extract an either too cold or too warm unhealthy and sugary drink? Unacceptable, concluded Maike and Philine and designed two°, a minibar solution getting rid of all negative aspects of the experience, creating new good ones. Better display of snacks and beverages, inspiring guests to buy in and thus creating more turnover. Easier handling for guests. No more kneeling. More sustainability: two° stands for a two degree increase of temperature. The average fridge cools at 6-8° degree. two° however advocates a slight correction resulting in massive energy efficiency.

FunBin (Sebastian Härder)
Garbage is dirty and annoying. Something to get rid of.  Something causing work. Negativity all the way. All that explains why festival grounds turn into waste war zones. Sebastian decided it would be time for a change and gamification would be the answer. He thus created Fun.Bin, a device to be installed inside a waste bin lit. But that isn’t the fun part! Every time someone executes his or her garbage duty and throws something inside, Fun.Bin will react. How? Well, that is up to you, festival organizer. Think a big “thank you for keeping this festival clean” from the lead act or really any sound you can think of. No doubts: Fun.Bin is the festival must-have 2019.

LO.CAL (Veronika Martin)
LO.CAL tackles two problems in one. Many hotels provide in-house gastronomy. The problems are: Kitchens create waste. Guests are sometimes hungry outside the kitchen opening hours. Veronika’s LO.CAL is a vending machine that inspires kitchen personnel to turn their waste into nightowl dishes, accessible through a vending machine. The dishes might be priced attractively or even included in the room rate. Who would not prefer a healthy fresh snack to the typical sugary emergency solution?

BIN.GO (Luis van den Berg)
Luis turned his attention to a problem occuring in hospitality operations dealing with food packaging. Think summer. Do you see desperate parents and both crying and happy children all covered in colorful ice cream? To prevent that look at least partially or to prevent the intake of gluten, many people choose cups. Once empty, the cup is thrown away. The problem? When the cups are being delivered they are stuck inside each other and thus do not take a lot of space. However, after being tossed, the cups create massive waste volumes. This leads to inefficiencies. Hosts now have two options: They could breath in deeply and jump inside the bin and on the waste until the volume is reduced by a considerate amount. Not a pleasant scenario? What about this: BIN.GO squeezes every in-throw individually and thus solves the issues without losing breath.  Applicable not only in front of ice cream stores but also for other food-on-the-go situations such as food trucks.

HIVE (Igor Altenhof)
Insects have recently arrived to European menus. Igor finds this more than plausible. It is way more efficient to breed and consume insects on many ecological and nutritional levels. They can be fed with kitchen waste and this way solve another issue. They will rise from being a taboo into a valued and important nutrition option. HIVE is a device to grow crickets in gastronomy environments. It allows kitchens to turn their waste into something valuable and make this new food option more accessible to guests.

Intrigued to be a first-mover with these products? Get in touch!

Thank you
We do thank all students for their openness and dedication to our project “Future of Hospitality”. We were inspired by your thoughts and ideas and highly encouraged to tidy up with the absurdities of our industry step by step. We especially thank Prof. Martin Topel for giving us access to those talents and leading them through the design process. We now do understand much better what it takes to design and create outstanding products.

In our #futopia, every product designer on earth will not only think about functionalities and look, but dive deep into resource efficiency, material input and life cycle assessment. Cheers to that.

About visionlabs
visionlabs is a platform for visionary product development, integrated into the faculty of industrial design at the University of Wuppertal. Students meet complex, future-orientated issues in innovative and competent way. The lab offers companies the chance to tackle problems impossible to solve in the businesses day-to-day operations. Experienced professors guide the students through the projects. visionlabs has been working with clients such as Lufthansa, Bosch, Henkel, Dornbracht and WMF. More information can be found here.

Summary

  • TUTAKA partnered up with the University of Wuppertal

  • A group of 20 students worked on  innovations for more sustainability and superb experiences in the hospitality industry

  • Solutions were found for hotel rooms, gastronomy, events and festivals

  • … but that’s just a piece of the cake. You better read the full article!

two°, a minibar getting rid of all negative aspects of the experience, including the immense loss of energy.

An invention by Enrico: tray - a zero waste soap grinder. Revolutionzes, how we use solid soaps.

Fun.Bin, an innovation by Sebastian, will make festivals cleaner, more communicative and maybe even more fun.

Veronika’s LO.CAL is a vending machine that inspires kitchen personnel to turn their waste into nightowl dishes, accessible through a vending machine.

HIVE enables gastronomers to grow crickets. Yes, crickets. Future of Hospitality.

BIN.GO squeezes every in-throw individually and thus reduces waste considerably.

In eigener Sache

Future of Hospitality
Innovationen & Erfindungen

TUTAKAs Kooperation mit der Bergischen Universität

Neue Ideen für mehr Nachhaltigkeit im Gastgebertum - ein radikales Neudenken von Luxus und dem Status Quo! Weniger ambitioniert hätte unsere Aufgabestellung wohl nicht sein können. Im Oktober letzten Jahres stellten wir uns vor eine Gruppe von Studenten rund um Prof. Martin Topel von der Bergischen Universität. Prof. Topel hatte uns zuvor eingeladen mit der fakultätsinternen Agentur visionlabs im kommenden Semester zusammenzuarbeiten. visionlabs bietet Unternehmen visionäre Produktdesign-Lösungen für Fragestellungen, die im Unternehmensalltag oft nicht hinreichend behandelt werden können.

So machten sich die Studenten an die Arbeit um Praktiken zu identifizieren, die weder neuen Vorstellungen von Luxus noch den einfachsten Nachhaltigkeitskriterien entsprechen. Ausgetobt wurde sich in Hotelzimmern und -badezimmern, in der Gastronomie, auf Festivals und Events. Gasterfahrungen wurden durchgespielt und neue Massstäbe für Luxus besprochen. Wir leisteten unseren Beitrag, indem wir über Mehrwerte und Qualitätsdimensionen von Nachhaltigkeit aufklärten und für die Branche sensibilisierten. Grosses Dankeschön an dieser Stelle an die grossartigen Gastgeber Hyatt Regency Cologne, 25hours Hotel The Circle, Motel One Cologne, Kaspar Catering, CHI Kaffeerösterei Wuppertal, Viertelbar Wuppertal, Taormina Wuppertal, Tante Olga Köln dafür, dass sie uns und den Studenten Einblicke in ihre Abläufe gewährt haben.

Schnell wurde klar, dass wir es in den visionlabs mit 100% Ecoisten zu tun haben. Die Studenten verstanden instinktiv warum Nachhaltigkeit und fantastische Gasterfahrungen Hand in Hand gehen. Denn sie sind die nächste Generation Gäste und wir konnten es kaum erwarten, die Resultate zu sehen.

Komplexe Probleme brauchen ausgefeilte Lösungen. Und hier sind sie. Wir präsentieren eine Auswahl der Designs und Innovationen für mehr Nachhaltigkeit im Gastgebertum: 

tray (Enrico Suhm)
Ein Hotelbadezimmer ohne Abfall klingt wie ein ecoistischer Supertraum. Weder Mini-Plastikflaschen noch sperrige Spendersysteme entsprechen den Anforderungen der neuen Generation. Flüssige Seifen, Shampoos, Conditioner und Bodylotions führen nicht nur zu Unmengen Plastikmüll, sondern verwässern auch noch die Inhaltsstoffe durch ihren besonders hohen Wasseranteil. Verschwendung und Gast-Ineffizienz auf allen Ebenen. Enrico hat flüssigen Kosmetikprodukten daher schnell den Rücken zugekehrt und sich festen Seifen zugewandt. Diese erleben zurzeit ohnehin eine Renaissance. Das Problem? Feste Seifenstücke, dazu noch unter fairen Bedingungen hergestellt und in Bio-Qualität bereitzustellen, ist teuer und damit nur etwas für Luxus-Gastgeber. Auch wenn diese Lösung den Flüssigen vorzuziehen ist, fallen immer noch Abfälle an. Schließlich werden die Stücke verpackt und selten ganz aufgebraucht. Wie wäre es denn, die festen Seifenstücke in handliche Portionen zu zerkleinern? Das Konzept ist zwar nicht gänzlich neu, aber was neu ist, ist Enricos Fokus auf Design und Erfahrung. Konventionelle Spender bieten das nicht. Enrico hat getestet und ausprobiert, Umfragen dazu gemacht, wie das zerkleinerte Material auf der Hand aussehen könnte und was die schönste Art wäre, den Spender zu bedienen. Das Ergebnis ist tray.

two° (Philine Jenke/ Maike Strauch)
Wer ist nicht schon mal von einer brummenden Minibar im Hotelzimmer geweckt wurden oder musste auf die Knie gehen, um ein entweder zu kaltes oder zu warmes meistens ungesundes Getränk umständlich zu entnehmen? Überholt, fanden Maike und Philine und gestalteten two°, eine Minibar Lösung, die mit den negativen Aspekten der Gasterfahrung aufräumt und positive Neue schafft. Eine ansprechende Präsentation von Snacks und Getränken, die Gäste dazu einlädt zuzugreifen und damit mehr Umsatz für den Gastgeber generiert. Kein “Auf-die-Knie-gehen” mehr. Dafür mehr Nachhaltigkeit: two° steht für zwei Grad mehr. Denn ein Anstieg der Temperatur, um nur zwei Grad führt zu deutlich mehr Energieeffizienz.

FunBin (Sebastian Härder)
Müll ist schmutzig und nervig. Es sieht nicht gut aus, riecht schlecht und man muss ihn umständlich entsorgen. Müll macht Arbeit und schlechte Laune. Das erklärt auch, warum Festivalgelände leider meistens aussehen wie Mülldeponien. Sebastian hat beschlossen, dass es an der Zeit ist aufzuräumen. Er findet, dass Müll Spass machen sollte und hat deshalb Fun.Bin entwickelt. Fun.Bin ist ein Gerät, dass in den Deckel einer Mülltonne eingebaut wird. Aber das ist nicht der spassige Teil. Der steht an, sobald jemand etwas in das Einwerf-Loch im Mülltonnendeckel wirft. Fun.Bin. reagiert dann nämlich. Wie? Nun, das kann der Festivalbetreiber entscheiden! Wie wäre es zum Beispiel mit einem “Dankeschön” des Haupt-Gigs? Alles ist möglich. Solange es Spass macht. Fun.Bin ist für uns das Festival Must-Have 2019.

LO.CAL (Veronika Martin)
LO.CAL geht gleich zwei Probleme auf einmal an. Viele Hotels verfügen über eine Inhouse Gastronomie. In Küchen bleibt immer Essen übrig. Das ist Fakt. Was aber auch stimmt ist, dass Hotelgäste auch mal ausserhalb der Küchen-Öffnungszeiten Hunger haben. Veronikas LO.CAL ist ein Verkaufsautomat, der das Küchenpersonal dazu inspiriert kleine Gerichte für Nachteulen aus den Überresten bereitzustellen. Die Gerichte könnten preislich sehr attraktiv gestaltet werden oder sogar in die Zimmerrate inkludiert werden. Wer würde nicht den gesunden Snack der typischen zuckerhaltigen Minibar-Notlösung bevorzugen?

BIN.GO (Luis van den Berg)
Luis hat sich einem typischen Problem zugewandt, das vor allem Gastgeber trifft, die Essen ohne eigenes Geschirr anbieten, wie beispielsweise Eiscafes oder Foodtrucks. Denke mal an den Sommer. Siehst Du verzweifelte Eltern mit in Eiscreme eingesauten Kindern? Um dem Chaos wenigstens ein bisschen entgegenzuwirken (und auf Gluten zu verzichten) gibt es Eisbecher aus Pappe. Das Problem mit Eisbechern ist, dass sie zwar ordentlich gestapelt in der Eisdiele ankommen, aber so nicht im Abfalleimer landen. Dadurch entsteht ein immenses und ineffizientes Müllvolumen. Gastgeber können nun entweder wiederholt in den Mülleimer treten, um mehr Platz zu schaffen oder sie wenden sich BIN.GO zu. BIN.GO zerdrückt jeden Mülleinwurf einzeln und reduziert damit das Müllvolumen erheblich.

HIVE (Igor Altenhof)
Insekten sind auch auf europäischen Speisekarten angekommen. Igor findet das mehr als einleuchtend. Immerhin sind Insekten gehaltvoller als beispielsweise Rind und haben dazu noch eine bessere Öko-Bilanz. Sie können mit Küchenresten gefüttert werden, was ein weiteres Nachhaltigkeitsproblem löst. Einmal entabuisiert werden Insekten zu einer gewertschätzten und wichtigen Nahrungsquelle werden. HIVE macht es möglich, Grillen in der Gastronomie zu züchten. Es ermöglicht Küchen ihren Abfall sinnvoll zu verwerten und mit Grillen eine weitere spannende Nahrungsoption anzubieten.

Du bist an den Produkten und Erfindungen interessiert? Kontaktiere uns gerne, um mehr zu erfahren. 

1.000 Dank
Wir danken den Studenten für ihre Offenheit und ihr Engagement für unser “Future of Hospitality” Projekt. Eure Gedanken und Ideen haben uns nicht nur inspiriert, sondern auch beflügelt und motiviert weiterhin mit den Absurditäten dieser Branche aufzuräumen. Schritt für Schritt. Ein besonderer Dank geht an Prof. Martin Topel, der uns die Türe geöffnet hat und die Studenten durch den Design-Prozess geführt hat. Wir verstehen nun jedenfalls sehr viel besser, was es heisst herausragende Produkte zu gestalten. 

In unserem #futopia wird jeder Produktdesigner der Welt nicht nur über Funktionalität und Design, sondern insbesondere auch über Ressourceneffizienz, Materialinput und Produkt-Lebenszyklen nachdenken.

Über visionlabs
visionlabs ist eine in die Industriedesign Fakultät der Bergischen Universität integrierte Plattform für visionäre Produktentwicklung. Studenten treffen dort auf komplexe, zukunftsorientierte Aufgabenstellungen die sie innovativ und kompetent angehen. Das lab ermöglicht es Unternehmen Probleme anzugehen, die im Unternehmensalltag oft nicht zufriedenstellend gelöst werden können. Erfahrene Professoren begleiten die Studenten durch den Prozess. In den letzten Jahren hat visionlabs mit Kunden wie Lufthansa, Bosch, Henkel, Dornbracht und WMF zusammengearbeitet.

Mehr Informationen gibt es hier.

Zusammenfassung

  • TUTAKA hat mit der Bergischen Universität kooperiert

  • Eine Gruppe von 20 Studenten erarbeitete Innovationen für mehr Nachhaltigkeit und herausragende Gasterfahrungen in Hotels, Restaurants, auf Events und Festivals

  • Herausgekommen sind neue Minibar- und Badezimmerkonzepte, Lösungen für Abfall und Küchenreste

  • Klingt spannend? Dann scrolle dich durch den Artikel.

two°, die Neuentwicklung einer energie-effizienten und Gasterfahrung maximierenden Minibar 

Enricos hat getestet, ausprobiert und Meinungen eingeholt, bis er das perfekte Ergebnis hatte.

Mit Sebastians Fun.Bin werden Festivals sauberer und Müllwegwerfen endlich unterhaltsam

Veronika’s LO.CAL inspiriert Küchenpersonal Food Waste in köstliche Nachtschwärmer-Gerichte zu verwandeln, welche über einen Automaten gekauft werden können.

HIVE ermöglicht das Züchten von Grillen im gastronomischen Umfeld. Ja, Du hast richtig gehört: Grillen. Future of Hospitality.

BIN.GO zerdrückt jeden Mülleinwurf einzeln und reduziert damit das Müllvolumen erheblich.